Kids VS. Technology Part II

If you haven’t checked out part one to this post please feel free to check it out first here! It will make it easier to follow and understand this post.

In the last blog post I mentioned that we would be going on a 30 day media black out and sure enough we did! We made it an entire month without social media. It really was not as hard as I anticipated. I did miss the adult interaction that I got from it but I did not miss the time it took away from my family. I can honestly say it really improved things in our house! Don’t believe me? Try it yourself! 🙂

Just a few ways it helped our family:
My house stayed cleaner! Instead of searching through Facebook while cooking dinner I was able to start a load of laundry. When I usually would be flipping through Instagram I was now sweeping the floor. When not constantly looking at my phone I was able to see just one more smile from one of my children or have a conversation with my husband while laying in bed. All things I had taken for granted before.

Like I said before, technology is amazing! I cannot and will not disagree with that but it is NOT everything! It is getting in the way of husbands and wives, parents and children, its even put before you animals! Did I mention how much drama I saved myself by being away from social media? A TON! I added back my Facebook today and was “informed” of all that I had missed while gone, the funny thing is that I really didn’t care! It was actually a relief that I did not have to witness or be a part of such petty nonsense.

Do you know the impact our 30 day media black out had on our children? We were able to work with our oldest son on his letters, numbers, and writing. He can now write his name better than I can write mine. Our stubborn twin that refused to walk is now taking steps all because we started working with him in our free time instead of looking through our phones. Our non talker is now signing words! He knows quite a few signs! All of this because we sat down our phones for ONE month! Imagine what we could do in 3 months, or 6 months, or even a year!

When I think about all of the times my phone came before my children I am truly ashamed with myself as a person and as a mother. That is NOT the kind of parent I wanted to be and I will not be that person again. My children deserve better than that. My family deserves better than that.

I will not go into the details of just how it helped my marriage but I will say this, in 7 years of our relationship I did not realize just how much we had changed as individuals and as a couple until we put down our phones. Not in a bad way, but it was different. Our conversations are about different things, we do things differently together, and we react to one another completely different. Again, all things I had taken for granted. I just assumed that he didn’t want to discuss how his day was when in reality all he wanted was for me to ask and he wanted to hear about mine! Even the scary poop stories that I share in full detail! These things did not appeal to him before but they did now and somewhere along the way I lost sight of that. I lost sight of a lot of things.

Will I check Facebook again? Sure! But I will make sure it is not getting in the way of my family any longer. We all deserve that much at the very least.

If you have followed along or are wanting to try it out please let me know your results as well! I would love to hear how it has impacted other families! Lets not let technology run and ruin our lives any longer!

Much love,

SHM

Leave a Reply

